.ll 72
.fo off
.co on 
.ce ((Editor's comments in double parenthesis - Homer))
.ce Copyright (C) Flemming A. Funch
.ce Redistribution rights granted for non commercial purposes
Technical Essay # 24 - FAF 29 December 1990

.ce Topology of Scales

The philosophical basics of our subject include a bunch of scales, cycles, and triangles. Most
of these interrelate and are consistent with each other. And, quite interestingly, each shape
converts to any of the other.

There are three basic shapes:

A gradient scale of characteristics going from low to high.
Higher points are usually regarded as more attractive.
E.g. the emotional tone scale.

The sequential steps of getting something done.
The ending of one sequence often leads right into a new sequence.
E.g. Start-Change-Stop.
A triangle symbolizing the balance between several subjects.
A comparable amount of each is regarded as desirable.
E.g. the ARC triangle.

Different subjects are traditionally presented in one of the three shapes. However, they all
convert to any of the other two. These conversions can illuminate the inherent characteristics
of these scales.

For example the tone scale. Used as an ascension it shows the direction to go for more
desirable emotions. Used as a cycle it describes the emotional characteristics of a cycle of
action. It starts on 40.0, changes through the whole range, and ends at 0.0, death, after which
a new cycle can start at 40. Used as a balance it indicates that it would be desirable to have a
balance between the different parts of it. That goes along with the midpoint (20-22)
representing optimum randomity.

Start-Change-Stop is a cycle of action. It could also be seen as a scale. Stop, that is being
stopped or stopping, is the least desirable. Change is better. And Starting is the most upscale
part of it. Now, looking at it as a triangle, we learn that a balance between starting, changing,
and stopping would be a good idea.

The ARC triangle represents 3 different subjects that form a whole called Understanding if
they are in balance. However, as a scale Affinity is highest, Communication in the middle,
and Reality lowest. As a cycle we can see that if one starts with Affinity (being in proximity to
something or someone), exchanges Communication, to gain Reality, then one has achieved
Understanding. It is the natural sequence of doing it.

Now, the catch is that with most of these scales none of the three shapes is the right one.
They are just different facets of the same thing. One has to comprehend all three to fully
understand the subject.

For example: Be-Do-Have is a sequence of attaining something. It can be a never-ending
cycle where one uses the Havingness one gets as Beingness to start a new cycle with. But
Be is the least aberrated of the three and Have the most aberrated according to the
ascension look. However, all three aspects must be in balance for optimum result. All three
ways of looking at it are equally true. The trick is to use the right frame of reference in the right

Interestingly the three shapes of scales are a higher harmonic of what they represent. The
balanced triangle represents Be, the cycle of action represents Do, the ascending scale
represents Have.

These principles illustrate the paradoxial nature of the basics of the universe. They are not
only useful tools, they show the basic traps built into the universe. Such as when you do
something you get Death. What you desire you become. When you improve, the game goes
out of balance. Whichever way you go you end up the same place. What appears to be the
way out is an endless loop.

This universe is a testbed for infinity-valued logic, you have to use gradient scales to figure it
out. However, this is not simple infinity-valued logic, there are some warps in it. You have to
be able to think in several dimensions to figure this one out.

All the scales and triangles and so forth are basically lies. They apply in this universe, but
they have to be transcended in the course of spiritual development.